PowerPoint Feedback by UserVoice

wataru

My feedback

  1. 17 votes
    Sign in
    (thinking…)
    Sign in with: Facebook Google
    Signed in as (Sign out)

    We’ll send you updates on this idea

    7 comments  ·  PowerPoint for the web  ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
    An error occurred while saving the comment
    wataru commented  · 

    I agree with what Mike M said in the comment section - the file should not be saved until the user click 'save' to commit the change. A better experience would be a prompt to save before exiting Word. In that way, the user can choose whether to commit the change or discard the change. Right now Autosave simply functions as OneNote and it's too troublesome to find the right version to revert back.

    For example, I was editing a document the other day, I made a mistake in my editing, and did not want to save it. I had 'autosave' on, and I had to dig the version history and open each version one by one and still didn't know exactly what version was the last saved version. Alternatively, I could also keep clicking 'undo' button till it grayed out. Either way it's a colossal waste of time. When I exit Word, I am not given the option to discard the change if 'autosave' is on. Therefore, I opted to disable 'autosave' in OneDrive.

    An error occurred while saving the comment
    wataru commented  · 

    Currently autosave is forced on every file on Onedrive. Terrible idea. Why? Because every time it saves, it changes the file's modified date. So I have no way knowing when the file was last edited. Let's say, if I open a file I edited in March.13th on Onedrive, the instant I open it and type something, its modified date changes to Sep.18th (today). So now I have to figure out whether the file is old data or new data, or when I lastly 'really' modified it (from the explorer) unless I open it in Powerpoint to see its saved history. Moreover, if I move the file to my local drive (it will happen when it is time to archive the file), all the history saving info is lost (good luck finding out your last edit). The autosave feature severely breaks my existing workflow (e.g. relying on 'modified date' for file editing history check). Terrible, terrible idea.

    Never liked OneDrive. With AutoSave in place (and w/o the ability to disable it permanently), there is even less incentive to use it, or continuing subscribing to O365 in my next bill.

    wataru supported this idea  · 

Feedback and Knowledge Base